HELP with [from scratch] System Design!

Hey all,

I need help designing my system! The core premise of the system design is twofold: 1) needs to operate WITHOUT internet and 2) must be able to scale up in complexity.

I have divided my “build” into 3 phases for both cost control and my own sanity as I am new to this subject.

• Phase 1 - Basic home security - Door/window/motion alarms with audible sound at control panel.
  • Phase 2 - Smart doorbell and outdoor camera (with remote viewing, voice response), smoke alarm/carbon monoxide detection interface
  • Phase 3 - Home automation - smart thermostat (with shutoff upon fire alarm), remote door entry (with physical lock access like Schlage Camelot), garage door opener, lights

I want everything to be wireless, preferably. I rather not get into having to upgrade my electric right now. In the interim, I hope to have low battery warnings. I also want to eventually add professional monitoring.

First question - can Z-wave and SuretyDIY provide a system which does not require internet to work? Specifically with the later phase functions. Also, is it all wireless?

Second - To begin with phase 1, do I only need the control panel and the sensors I wish to have?

If there is anything I’m not thinking about that you think might be important to consider, PLEASE let me know!

First question – can Z-wave and SuretyDIY provide a system which does not require internet to work? Specifically with the later phase functions. Also, is it all wireless?

All Alarm.com compatible alarm panels (the panels for which we provide service) use a cellular communication module for primary panel communication with the back-end service. Internet is optional on most panels as a concurrent backup signal, but is not required.

All Z-wave device automation would be able to be used exclusively through the cell module - no internet required.

I want everything to be wireless, preferably. I rather not get into having to upgrade my electric right now.