Basic advice

Let me start by saying that I am new to DIY security/automation but have gained some good information from this forum. I like the Alarm.com/suretydiy model but am not sure the next steps.

I recently purchased a home that has an existing wired alarm. I say wired because I do not see anything that would indicate that wireless sensors exist. I have two DSC PK5508 keypads. It seems as though only my doors have sensors and of the 5 doors its only using 2 of the keypad zones. I do not have any master codes for the keypads therefor the system is useless unless I call the existing monitoring company to come out for $150. Instead of going that route I would rather invest that money into a different panel for security and some automation. I would like security monitoring, 3 to 4 outdoor cameras, garage automation and maybe smoke alarms. I am looking to start with security and then add to it over time.

So, with all that being said, here are my ?s
Can I simply replace 1 of my keypads with a 2GIG or Qolsys?
What do I do with the other keypad?
Any issues with using wired and wireless sensors with a system like this, (assume not)

If there is something I should be aware of that I am not thinking of then please let me know.

Happy to help out!

I recently purchased a home that has an existing wired alarm. I say wired because I do not see anything that would indicate that wireless sensors exist. I have two DSC PK5508 keypads.

If you have a wired system there will be a control board, typically in the basement, in a metal casing. This is where your sensor and keypad wires travel back to.

Can I simply replace 1 of my keypads with a 2GIG or Qolsys?

You can typically reuse cabling if the run is not too long for the gauge of wire. Wired system keypads will use four conductors, so you can double up on positive and negative to avoid voltage drop.